A deadly truth by Joyce Proell – Interview


A Deadly Truth (A Cady Delafield Mystery #1)

A Deadly Truth (A Cady Delafield Mystery #1)

by Joyce Proell

A man obsessed, a woman willing to risk it all…

Tainted in the eyes of Victorian society by his wife’s suicide, successful entrepreneur Doyle Flanagan turns a deaf ear to the baseless gossip and harsh rebukes. Ignoring his shattered reputation, he goes about his business making money, doing some good for others and making a few enemies along the way. Arrested for murder, he is forced to rely on a feisty school administrator to solve the puzzle. As he struggles to prove his innocence, he realizes gaining the trust and loyalty of Cady Delafield may be more important than his freedom.

On a quest to locate a missing student, school matron Cady Delafield enters a stranger’s house and discovers the woman murdered. Driven to see the murderer brought to justice, she is determined to prevent any further tragedy even if it means joining forces with the very man accused of the atrocity. Against the wishes of her powerful family, she risks her job and reputation to learn the truth. But will the truth, once revealed, drive her away from the man she has come to love?

Passion and murder collide in 1880’s Chicago as they race to keep one step ahead of the police who want Doyle to pay for his crime. As the attraction between Cady and Doyle sizzles, they battle suspicions, lies and lethal actions to uncover the murderer before he destroys them both.

***Interview***

Hi, everyone. It’s great to be at Kiolu & Mimi’s today.

What made you write A Deadly Truth?

I enjoy a great romance as much as I enjoy the puzzle of a good mystery. So why not put the two elements together in one book? Since I’m a history buff, the story is set in the 1880’s. Sometimes a hero and heroine are so compelling and fun, I can’t get enough of them. Cady and Doyle, the characters in A Deadly Truth are like that. I wanted their story to continue so I wrote their second book. A Burning Truth comes out in December, 2013.

How did you become an author?

I wanted a break from working in mental health. I considered changing careers yet didn’t know what I wanted to do. My husband, always the optimist, suggested I write a book. “Me,” I asked, shocked by the suggestion. “Why not,” he countered. “Take a year off and see what happens.” And so I did.

If you were a character from your books, which one would you be?

Doyle Flanagan. Who doesn’t like a handsome guy with a generous heart who is also a self-made success? Yet the best in one person can bring out the worst in others. People can be petty, jealous and cruel. Despite Doyle’s wonderful qualities, he is misunderstood and wrongly accused. He is vilified in the press, and purposely targeted by the villain. One can’t help but care about what happens to him.

Who do you picture playing the roles of your characters if it were to become a movie?

I’d cast Henry Cavill as Doyle because he has a strong screen presence. The dark hair and blue eyes also work. Rachel McAdams, with a little red hair color, would fit the Cady character well.

Is there anything about you that would surprise your readers?

Most writers admit they wanted to be a writer from childhood. It never occurred to me to write a book. I never dreamed of being a published author. Once I started writing, I couldn’t stop. I’ve written five books. Two have been published with a third to be released in December. There’s no stopping point in mind for me.

Thank you so much for hosting me today at Kiolu & Mimi’s. It is always a pleasure to interact with readers.

Lasă un răspuns

